Due to the EU’s Global Data Protection Regulation, our website is currently unavailable to visitors from most European countries. We apologize for this inconvenience and encourage you to visit www.motortrend.com for the latest on new cars, car reviews and news, concept cars and auto show coverage, awards and much more.MOTORTREND.COM
Subscribe to the Free

We Salute the 2015 Drag Racing Champions from the NHRA, IHRA, PDRA, and NMCA

Another “Tour De Force” Campaign: Here’s to the 2015 straight-line champions who are flying the Chevrolet flag

Bruce Biegler Dec 1, 2015
View Full Gallery

Once again the Chevrolet brand remained at the leading edge for drag racing success during 2015.

World Championships were claimed on numerous fronts by Chevrolet-powered and Chevrolet-bodied cars within all of the upper echelon, major North American drag racing circuits.

Within the marquee NHRA drag racing series, for the second year in a row and the 21st time overall, Chevrolet captured NHRA’s highly prestigious Manufacturers Cup. The Manufacturers Cup goes to the automobile manufacturer whose current-year models earn the most points for qualifying and category victories at NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series national and Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series regional and divisional events. Chevrolet was far and away the most successful manufacturer during the 2015 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series with 29 national event victories in three different eliminator categories.

The 2015 Chevrolet Camaro SS model was certainly the car to have within NHRA’s 500ci Pro Stock category. In total, Camaro racers tallied an amazing winning record scoring 22 victories in 24 available events. The final Top 10 in NHRA World Championship points truly illustrated that domination with Camaro cars placing 9 out of 10 in final points standings.

Defending 2014 Pro Stock World Champion Erica Enders-Stevens, who claimed the title for the second year in a row, led the charge. Enders-Stevens, who is from Texas, had a record-setting season racing her Elite Motorsports Chevy Camaro, earning 9 victories in 11 final round appearances.

While Erica’s remarkable run to the NHRA Pro Stock title was arguably the top season highlight for the Chevrolet brand within drag racing, numerous other Chevrolet racers claimed class championships elsewhere within NHRA and beyond.

Chevy High Performance is committed and pleased to help recognize and acknowledge just some of these proud championship title winners within our photo essay below.



Erica Enders-Stevens lead the absolute Camaro onslaught within NHRA Pro Stock by winning nine events in 2015 to successfully defend her Mello Yello World Championship.


For the second year in a row Chevrolet has claimed NHRA’s Lucas Oil Top Alcohol Funny Car World Championship with an international driver; Sweden’s Jonnie Lindberg prevailed in 2015 in his Chevy Monte Carlo.


Nevada’s Justin Lamb, who won the NHRA World Championship for Stock Eliminator back in 2013, prevailed for the Super Stock World Championship this year in this high-flying 2010 Chevy Cobalt.


Ohio’s Jacob Elrod scored the NHRA Lucas Oil World Championship within the ferociously competitive Super Gas (9.90) category racing his Sunoco-sponsored topless Corvette.


Jeffrey Barker made history in 2015 when he became the first ever National Champion for Top Sportsman offered within NHRA racing. Jeff had four wins in seven final round appearances racing his nitrous-assisted Chevy Cobalt.


Racing his truly revolutionary turbocharged 2015 C7, Ohio’s Troy Coughlin earned a hard-fought win for NHRA’s 10-race J&A Services Pro Mod World Championship series.



For the second year in a row, Oklahoma’s Cary Goforth won the IHRA’s Mountain Motor Pro Stock title. Goforth had two wins in four final round appearances last season racing his Camaro.


California’s Jason Rupert also had a successful title defense in IHRA. Racing the awesome Bays & Rupert Black Plague 1969 Camaro, Rupert tallied five wins in eight final rounds to win the AmsOil Nitro Funny Car crown.



Wily veteran Pro Mod racer Rickie Smith (from North Carolina) won three times en route to securing his first PDRA Pro Nitrous World Championship title.


Mississippi’s Jason Scruggs (who is part owner of the PDRA) won five events during 2015 to take the PDRA’s prestigious Pro Extreme title in his 1969 Camaro.


Prolific racer Ronnie Davis (who is from Georgia) guided his 1963 Corvette to the PDRA’s overall Top Sportsman Championship title.



Fastest Street Car-genre racing in 2015 featured a couple of successful title defenses within the marquee NMCA circuit. Keith Berry took his Georgia-based 2002 Corvette to another M/T Radial Wars championship while David Hutnick again wrapped up the Edlebrock Xtreme Street title driving his 2002 Camaro.



Connect With Us

Get Latest News and Articles. Newsletter Sign Up

sponsored links

subscribe to the magazine

get digital get print