2013 Super Chevy Show - Royal Purple Raceway

Baytown Bowties - Royal Purple Raceway hosts the 11th event in the Super Chevy Show Series and the Second Visit to Texas

View Full Gallery


Editors Choice Car Show Awards
Joseph Mouton New Orleans, LA ’55 Bel Air
Kenny Frederic Geismar, LA ’57 Bel Air
Randy Blackwell Highlands, TX ’61 Corvette
Danny Licatine Baytown, TX ’65 Impala
Kevin McElroy Baycliff, TX ’66 El Camino
Wayne Williams Baytown, TX ’68 Camaro
Kevin Bellard Welsh, TX ’69 Chevelle
Daniel Mark Houston, TX ’71 Monte Carlo
Vincent Pilney Kenan, TX ’73 Camaro
Anna Kidder Crosby, TX ’75 Nova
Editors Choice Drag Car Awards
Earl Thrift Houston, TX ’55 Bel Air
Mitchell Lawrence Baytown, TX ’55 Bel Air
Jim Parchman Montgomery, TX ’65 Chevelle
Mike Shishkoff Houston, TX ’67 Camaro
Billy Talbot League City, TX ’69 Camaro
Tom Hard Baytown,TX ’69 Camaro
Brad Bloomer Sugarland,TX ’69 Nova
Gene Fontenot Dayton,TX ’76 LUV
James Fruge Orange, TX ’81 Camaro
Dewayne League Houston, TX ’85 S-10
Drag Race Results
Sportsman Jr. Dragster
Champion Blaine Hightower Crosby, TX
Runner Up Dalton Lummus China, TX
Champion Brian Gallagher Houston, TX
Runner Up Terry Frederich Par, TX
Bracket Electronics
Champion Brian Holloway Houston, TX
Runner Up Mitchell Lawrence Baytown, TX
Champion Matthew Legg LaPorte, TX
Runner Up Laurie Vontur San Antonio, TX
Champion Howard Farris Springtown, TX
Runner Up Mary Reep Austin, TX

1985 S10 Editors 2/30

11. One of our Editor’s Choice drag awards went to Dewayne League of Deer Park, Texas, and his ’85 S-10. The little truck has a 408 mouse backed by a Powerglide with a 4200 stall, and a 4.10-geared 9-inch.

1981 Chevy 12/30

15. One of our heroes of the day was James Fruge and his 468 big-block powered ’81 Camaro. James is the one in the wheel chair and he races using hand controls. Talk about a handful—you try running a 9.78 without using your feet.




Connect With Us

Get Latest News and Articles. Newsletter Sign Up

subscribe to the magazine

get digital get print