Run To The Coast II

A Weekend of High-Performance Glory!

View Full Gallery

From the Seat

’02 Z06 Corvette

1107chp 23 O  Run To The Coast Ii Event Blue 2/29

People always say that the car is just an extension of the driver. We absolutely agree because our Z06 is pretty dialed in and makes driving through most situations relatively easy. Case in point, we managed to whittle our time in the autocross from 45.185 Saturday’s wet course to 40.83 during Sunday’s dry morning session. With the numbers set, we handed the keys to one of our shooters Robert McGaffin for fun runs, only to have him match us on his first hit. By his third run, he was running even quicker with a 40.377, and honestly, it was pretty cool to see. The road course was an absolute blast, and we’re looking forward to our next opportunity to stretch the Z06’s legs. And when it came to the speed stop, it was a personal favorite. The wide-open throttle acceleration was a rush and stabbing the brake as hard as possible was another cool feeling in itself. More importantly, the number-one lesson learned: seat time, seat time, seat time! Regardless of what you’re driving that alone will make all the difference in the world.

Baer Brakes Speed Stop challenge top 10

Sal Solorzano 11.545
Kyle Tucker 11.561
Kyle Newman 11.785
Mark Gearhart 11.792
Brian Finch 11.900
Mary Pozzi 11.932
Deanna Marengo 11.932
Henry De Los Santos 11.978
Jay Weir 11.996
Brian Hobaugh 12.016

Event Sponsors

Baer Brakes
Boze Wheels
Carbon Kustoms
Detroit Speed Inc.
Spectre Performance
Wilwood Brakes

Carbon Kustoms Autocross

Brian Hobaugh 37.000
Kyle Tucker 37.206
Mary Pozzi 37.679
Ryan Matthews 38.139
Jay Weir 38.210
Brian Finch 38.215
David Pozzi 38.313
Bruce Cambern 38.423
Kyle Newman 38.778
David Gordon 38.834
Brett Campbell 39.108
Chris McCrea 39.159
Deanna Marengo 39.283
Sal Solorzano 39.299
Nick Licata 39.366
Carl Cassanova 39.546
Gerald Lum 39.631
Steven Rupp 39.811
Rob McGregor 39.892
Todd Akes 39.954
Rob Chandler 40.115
James Shipka 40.232
Mark Gearhart 40.282
Jon Rasmussen 40.303
Brandy Morrow 40.538
Jay Reynolds 40.568
Larry Callahan 40.732
Henry De Los Santos 40.83
Brett Habegger 41.326
Cory Condit 41.498

Detroit Speed Road Course*

Ryan Mathews 1:02.8
Jay Weir 1:03.0
Brian Hobough 1:04.0
Kyle Tucker 1:04.9
Brian Finch 1:06.2
David Pozzi 1:07.0
Kyle Newman 1:07.0
Todd Akes 1:08.1
Mark Gearhart 1:08.2
Sal Solorzano 1:08.3
Rick Klein 1:08.6
David Gordon 1:08.8
Tom Foglesong 1:09.0
Carl Cassanova 1:09.3
Chris McCrae 1:09.4
Mary Pozzi 1:09.5
Bruce Cambern 1.09.7
Brett Campbell 1:09.7
Brandy Morrow 1:10.3
James Shipka 1:10.6
Nick Licata 1:12.0
Doug Renner 1:12.4
Gerald Lum 1:12.4
John Barkley 1:12.8
Tom Ciancitto 1:13.3
Jon Rasmussen 1:13.4
Rob McGregor 1:13.5
Jeff Manka 1:13.7
Steven Rupp 1:13.8
Cory Condit 1:13.8

*Best times combined from Saturday and Sunday.




Connect With Us

Get Latest News and Articles. Newsletter Sign Up

subscribe to the magazine

get digital get print