Subscribe to the Free

Holley LS Fest - Southern Fun

Celebrating a New Breed of Power at Holley’s First LS Fest

View Full Gallery

The hot-rodding spirit is as American as apple pie, burnouts, baseball, and drive-in movies. And what better place to showcase that strength than in the green heavy hills of the South? Never was that more evident than at the Beech Bend Parkway in Bowling Green, Kentucky. It was there, during the weekend of Sept. 9-11, 2010, an all-out assault on the grounds was underway.

chp_01_o Holley_ls_fest 2/30

The good folks at Holley came up with an event unlike any other. With the popularity of LS powerplants skyrocketing, it only made sense to celebrate them with an event that was completely dedicated to all things LS related. The three-day event proved to be a big hit and included heads-up drag racing, autocrossing, a 0-to-60-to-0 Speed Stop Challenge, an engine swap challenge, a show ’n’ shine, and of course, the countryside cruise. Even a manufacturers’ midway allowed show goers to check out the latest in LS technology. While the weather didn’t cooperate at first, it failed to stop the fun, and participants were lining up to run their rides. The rules were simple, only requiring each participating vehicle to be powered by an LS engine. This included anything from the truck-based 5.3 liters, LS9s, and race-bred LSXs. For the autocross portion, rubber was to be rated no less than 180 treadwear to compete. During the events, class champions were crowned, as was an overall event champion who participated in multiple events.

It was southern hospitality at its finest at Holley’s hometown track. If you weren’t there, don’t worry. We were there in full force to cover all of the gear-slamming fun, and we have to say, if you have an LS, this was the place to be. Holley’s first year with the event was such a slam dunk, they’ve already released the date for next year’s event. Don’t miss out because we’ll be there again.

Chevy High Noon Shootout

Without a doubt, Holley’s inaugural LS Fest was a complete hit, and we’re already anticipating next year’s event! We also need to thank Holley for allowing us to participate by integrating our own Chevy High Noon Shootout into the weekend’s program.

chp_25_o Holley_ls_fest 26/30

Friday consisted of our Outlaw 8.5 heads-up race, Saturday featured our Autocross Invitational, and Sunday was the Show & Shine. Every First Place winner received a $1,500 gift certificate good for anything from the Holley lineup or brand family, along with a personalized Chevy High Performance jacket. For the Second and Third Place winners, each received a plaque for their valiant efforts.

We’re definitely bringing back our Chevy High Noon Shootout for 2011, so if you would like to be a part of it, get online and send us an email at Be sure to include several high-res images of your ride, the Shootout you want to be in, and a detailed list of your combination.

Autocross Invitational
Brian Nutter 159 1:02.374
Mark Stielow 188 1:04.149
Brian Finch 154 1:04.209
Brett Voelkel 211 1:05.803
Eric Cederburg 129 1:07.350
Stacy Tucker 161 1:07.750
Mark Turner 255 1:08.788
Yancy Johns 213 1:10.301
Luke Hawkins 132 1:10.379
Paul Riley 264 1:10.655
Greg Schneider 212 1:11.596
Mike Strinich 104 1:11.765
Tony Bulch 234 1:15.855
Outlaw 8.5
Paul Falcon ’02 Firebird
Show & Shine
Mike Cornelius ’69 Camaro
Jeff Cleary ’67 Corvette
James Kirtley ’78 Malibu
RideTech & Camaro Performers Autocross Winners
Brian Nutter 159 1:02.286
Brian Finch 154 1:03.024
Wayne Furr 128 1:03.223
Mark Stielow 188 1:03.835
Mark Grodensien 181 1:04.709
Mark Turner 255 1:04.119
Erik Cederberg 129 1:04.120
Stacy Tucker 161 1:04.973
Bret Voelkel 211 1:05.079
Yancy Johns 123 1:06.053
Paul Riley 264 1:07.313
Jim Mueller 131 1:07.599
Allan Miller 192 1:07.867
Luke Hawkins 132 1:08.488
Chris Light 290 1:08.770
James Roulett 229 1:09.654
Baer Speed Stop Challenge Winners
Non ABS Street Tire Mark Stielow 188 8.08
Brian Finch 154 9.01
Non ABS Comp Tire Mark Greenisen 181 9.70
ABS Comp Tire Allan Miller 192 7.56
ABS Street Tire Ted Timmerman 160 8.77
Luke Hawkins 132 9.16

LS Fest Grand Champion Scoring
1 Mark Stielow
2 Brian Nutter
3 Brian Finch
4 Ted Timmerman
5 Bret Voelkel
6 James Rowlett
7 Greg Schneider
8 Robert Bertelsen
8 Stacy Tucker
8 Yancy Johns
11 Micheal Smith
12 Nick Licata
13 Chris Nichols
14 Carl Gentile



Connect With Us

Get Latest News and Articles. Newsletter Sign Up

sponsored links

subscribe to the magazine

get digital get print